30 day poetry challenge: day 1

Everything you need to know
Poetryforyou
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2021

--

My first English sonnet

Love is like fire in that it burns so hot

That one cannot touch it without a glove.

You burned me black, you burned me dead, my love,

You shall be burned by the depths of my hate!

Like the mythical creature that is Prom-

Etheus you gave my fire to those

That did not deserve it and now my prose

Shall wipe you off the Earth so now: Begone!

Cold blue eyes and colder solid stone heart,

She left me but, oh, why, I played my part!

I worked so hard, was hardly ever there!

Is it wrong that I needed comforting?

I worked all day, she just did the cleaning

’Til she told me: “Get out you sexist bear!”

As you can see, the last six lines are a lot lighter in tone and are supposed to be a bit ironic; I’m writing from the point of view of a stereotypical “Career guy who happens to have a wife.” He doesn’t take care of her as he should and doesn’t appreciate her work. It’s supposed to be funny and provide a sharp contrast to the rather old-fashioned and serious first eight verses.

I personally quite like it, though I took a few liberties with the rhyming and the metaphor doesn’t have the meaning I wanted it to have, but it reads quite well. I respected the iambic pentameter, and it’s most definitely a sonnet, so I consider today a success!

Note: You may use this poem or any other content of this article for non-commercial purposes only. If you wish to do so, please provide a link to this article in the same font and size as the rest of the poem.

For more poems, go to 30 day poetry challenge.

And, don’t forget to clap and follow me!

--

--