30 day poetry challenge, day 3

Everything you need to know
Poetryforyou
Published in
1 min readMar 14, 2021

--

This post is a little late, sorry about that, I wrote the poem quite late and couldn’t be bothered to post it.

Is the red rose all it is said to be?

Confusion, despair, exasperation,

Are my thoughts pure, right, correct, thinkable,

or are my thoughts wrong and despicable,

To be shunned, impure abominations?

Is the red rose all it is said to be?

A fragile blossom to be protected,

Loved and desired, pruned and coveted,

A possession cast aside, never free?

Even the finest roses have sharp thorns,

And even the fiercest beasts have hearts torn,

And if left alone, both will grow and bloom.

I want a world where it wouldn’t matter,

Rose and beast would coexist for the better,

But alas, my hope is all but in tomb.

Note: You may use this poem or any other content of this article for non-commercial purposes only. If you wish to do so, please provide a link to this article in the same font and size as the rest of the poem.

For more poems, go to 30 day poetry challenge.

Don’t forget to clap and follow me!

--

--