30 day poetry challenge: day 5

Everything you need to know
Poetryforyou
Published in
1 min readMar 16, 2021

--

I am me

I am not white, I am not black,

I am not gay, I am not straight,

I am not male, I am not female,

I am not trans, I am not cis.

I am not like you, nor you me,

I am not like he, nor like she,

Not like you would have me be,

I am me.

I am my character, my passion,

I am my strengths and my weaknesses,

My pride, my faith, my loves and my hates.

Be you male, female, straight, gay, bi, pan,

Be you black or white, able or not,

You are not me, not him, nor her: you are you.

A somewhat irregular sonnet once again, but nonetheless rather pleasant. It is inspired by Ernst Jandl’s My own song, and reuses some of the ideas from my previous poems.

Note: You may use this poem or any other content of this article for non-commercial purposes only. If you wish to do so, please provide a link to this article in the same font and size as the rest of the poem.

For more poems, go to 30 day poetry challenge.

Don’t forget to clap and follow me!

--

--