30 poetry challenge, day 20

Everything you need to know
Poetryforyou
Published in
1 min readApr 1, 2021

--

French Lockdown 2.0

The man in the blue suit starts to speak:
“Frenchwomen and frenchmen”
And my heart fills with dread, fills with
The same kind of dreadful
anticipation I get before a bad grade.

He begins by congratulating key workers
For their courage, stamina, pure decency,
And I fill with the warmth of hope,
Bathe in the deep glow of my pride in my countrymen

But then he talks about school and the dread returns.
How long will I have to wait
Before I get the normal education that is my right?

Learning online is just different:
There are no friends, not teachers,
Just you, the screen and the voices in your head.

Note: You may use this poem or any other content of this article for non-commercial purposes only. If you wish to do so, please provide a link to this article in the same font and size as the rest of the poem.

For more poems, go to 30 day poetry challenge.

Don’t forget to clap, comment and follow me!

--

--